Titan 60 Aircraft Engine

Discussion in 'Engines From Castings' started by Tom Herbert, Jul 19, 2019.

Help Support HMEM by donating:

1. Jul 19, 2019 #1

Tom Herbert

Tom Herbert

Tom Herbert

Hello to the group, I've been lurking for a while now, and I'm sorry that my first post is asking for help rather than contributing.

I've been doing hobby machining for more than 25 years, and I stepped away a few years ago to pursue other interests, but now I'm starting to get back into it, and want to continue with a project that I began and never finished -- the Titan 60 glow aircraft engine. I got the basic crankcase and back cover machining done, then started the crankshaft, and made an error, so I need to remake it.

I generally keep each of my projects in a plastic box, together with the plans, but somehow the plans/construction article have disappeared.

Tom

2. Jul 20, 2019 #2

Cogsy

Cogsy

Cogsy

Well-Known Member Staff Member Global Moderator

3. Jul 29, 2019 #3

Dr Jo

Dr Jo

Dr Jo

Plans and instructions for the Titan appeared in the Home Shop Machinist magazine March 1994. The Engine Collectors' Journal later carried a multi-part construction series on the engine by Roger J Schroeder. The drawings were available directly from Orven Sales

Here is my one running:

Jo

Henry likes this.
  4. Jul 30, 2019 #4

Tom Herbert

Tom Herbert

Tom Herbert

Thanks very much for the responses. I have contacted both HSM and The Engine Collectors Journal to try to obtain a copy of the article(s). We'll see if they respond. I'm also going to look on eBay for a copy of the March 1994 HSM.

Tom

5. Jul 30, 2019 #5

Tom Herbert

Tom Herbert

Tom Herbert

I sent an email to the current publisher of HSM, and had a response in less than 5 minutes. They no longer have that back issue available, but they will copy/scan the article for $10. Truthfully, I expected to wait several days for a response. I never expected an answer that quickly.

Thanks again.

Tom

6. Jul 30, 2019 #6