Sieg X2 Spindle Runout

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lock-ed

Reaction score
First, thank you to all the contributors to these forums. As a complete novice, I have spent much time reading and learning. I Currently have a Sieg X2 and C3. No plans for CNC, but hope to add DRO's and belt-drive in the near future. My workshop holds a steady 13*C/55*F

I have tried searching, but have not found answers to how much runout is common on the X2?

At the moment, I am very unhappy with my mills performance. Runout at the tip of my engraving bit is 0.6mm/0.023 inches. I only have a cheap DTI, but I don't need it to see I have way too much tolerance. I am currently running a 3MT spindle, and a chinese ER25 collet chuck. I have made similar tests with the keyed chuck that came with the mill. All parts have been cleaned, without affecting tolerances.

The measurements I have made so far, are 0.01mm/0.004 inches at the upper spindle, 0.03mm/0.0012 at the lower part of the spindle(approx 15mm lower). These measurements are taken OD. ID gives the same numbers. When installing a small bit(my most precise object to mount in the collet), I measure 0.1mm/0.012 close to the collet, and it gets worse with a longer bit/further down.... The worst being 0.6mm/0.023 inches

The mill seemed fine at first(drilling and tapping M1.2), but on my second run, I noticed the centre drill making a "W"-hole, not the "V"-hole I would expect. On trying my engraving bit, it made a very rough 1mm wide track. Very far from my first 0.1mm lines.

My questions are:
What is expected runout at (ID) the mouth of the spindle?
Is this multiplied by distance(longer bits/chucks)?
Is there an easy way to measure runout in the collet-/chuck?