Searching for milling machine

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Iron16

Reaction score
hello everybody, i'm new in the world of model engine builders. I'm studying engine theory beacuse in the future i want to try
to build the engine for my model aircraft, probabily a 4 stroke, 50cc radial engine. Currently i have a small Proxxon lathe (PD 250) and i'm looking to buy a milling machine.
I think that the biggest piece of the engine will have a 80-90mm of diameter. For a milling machine, what do you think about Wabeco 1200?
Is it a good one? will it reach the requested tollerance (about 0.01mm), with some practice?

From what I can tell from their specifications that you will not be able to hold 0.01mm tolerances. That number is for the concentricity of the spindle and not the accuracy of the machine. My best guess is that you may be able to hold between 0.03 and 0.05mm. Just a guess though.

The thing that is a little confusing is how I interpreted that its milling capabilities was that the maximum cut was a 10mm end mill at 10mm of depth. They show the same amount on both the 1.4 kW and the 2.5 kW machines, which leads me to believe that would be what the spindle is capable of. It is foggy when interpreting from one language to another much less the difference between methods of measurement, so I could be way off on that.

One thing for certain is that i would rather have any German machine over a Chinese one. Don't get in a hurry, look around and see what else is out there.

Ok i understood, but for bulding an engine what type of milling machine do i need?
Is it possibile with the wabeco F1200 or do i need a bigger machine? Do you have any suggestion? Thank you

Honestly, I don't believe that a 100-kg machine would be my choice. Then again, I have seen some amazing work coming off a Sherline lathe!