Recommend a Torch

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sparticusrye

Reaction score
I am looking to get a torch, preferably propane, for silver soldering. There are several on the market and I don't have much experience with them, so I though I would ask here. Is there a torch that anyone would recommend that isn't going to break the bank?

I am looking to build a live steam engine eventually, one of Kozo's engines, in 3/4" scale and then possible in 1.5" scale. So It would have to be able to handle a project like this as well as smaller projets such as the Bill 1906 that I am working on now.

I have limited experience in this area so any information and/direction of where to get more info would be appreciated.

James

It depends on your budget and how long you are going to use the torch.
I use 3 different types, a MiniFlam propane/butane/oxygen pencil torch, a medium sizes propane/oxygen torch and a larger size oxygen/acetylene torch.
Regards,
Giovanni

Miniflam-pen-torch.jpg

Mttrois.jpg

Miniflam Tri-Oxy with Clamp.jpg

Smith Little Torch Kit 114-292LARGE Contenti.jpg

I've only recently started silver soldering, but I've found a small propane torch more than adequate. My largest silver soldered piece to date is a 6" ring of 10mm steel. The torch kit I used was a Clarke pc109 which cost around £20 UK. They do a version with a higher heat output, a pc108.

http://www.machinemart.co.uk/shop/p...with-nozzles/path/gas-torches-soldering-irons

The trick that I found with silver soldering is that the fit between the parts is very important to maintain strength and to get the solder to flow well into the joint. Its very important to use refractory bricks to reflect the heat back onto the work. With the correct arrangement of bricks achieving the correct temperature is easy.