Pocket V8

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sixtysixdeuce

Reaction score
So, although I have a fair amount of experience in manufacturing, I'm still very new to the world of model engine building. As such, this is not going to be a runner, but just something fun to put together that offers proof of concept, machining experience and an opportunity to learn what works and what doesn't for when I begin my build on an actual working engine.

Anywho, it started with me merely trying to see how well I could machine a miniature crankshaft. It began life as the smooth shank of a 1/2" grade 8 bolt, but after about 9 hours, became a decent little loose copy of a SB Chrysler crank.

IMG_20140604_215848_1601_zps55d167d7.jpg

Well, I fondled it for a few days, then decided it needed a home. After about 8 hours, I had the block. Unfortunately, this was where I learned of one of my tooling shortfalls; the bit I was using to bore the cam tunnel walked significantly as it went in, nearly coming out at the #7 tappet holes. Oh well, like I said, not a runner.

IMG_20140612_133406_0621_zps140dfd6f.jpg

Today's projects were the cam and bed plate/pan. Copied a BB Chrysler cam I had lying around, since it has basically the same profile as the SB cam, save for the distributor/oil pump drive being at the front. Cam is machined from a piece of 3/16 mild steel, the lobes are hand filed.

IMG_20140612_220801_0291_zpsfe4ae4c8.jpg

On the bed plate, the reason I decided to go this route was simply a matter of practicality; the main journals are so thin, there is barely enough room for a 00-90 screw, and I have not had good luck with 00-90 taps in the past.

Here's one for perspective:

IMG_20140612_223528_6551_zpsae979010.jpg