Observations on machining---The things I find most difficult---

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Bob---I have been a ticketed welder for many years---no, let me rephrase that---I had my 2 position ticket many years ago. There, thats better. I have my own Lincoln stick welder and an oxy acetylene rig that are both old enough to vote, (by a large margin) and a new mig that I bought 5 years ago when I was building my current hotrod.

Brian,

"There are many roads to Rome" That is a very true statement.
If your get what you want out of your lathe or mill, avoid shrapnel and still have enough fingers to play the piano, how ever you did it is OK. As time and experience progress.....so will you. Your techniques will improve and get more sophisticated, and your intimidation will transform into respect for the equipment and confidence in your own ability.

It's no differant than getting your welding ticket or your drivers license.....after twenty years of turning cranks, I learn something every time I turn the lathe on. Just be a sponge and keep asking "Why?"

Best to you.
Dave

What a great thread! I'd be happy to take 3 times as long and accomplish half as much as you all did.

The video was great. But I have to tell you...I wasn't looking at the part...I was trying to see as as much of the hands making the part as I could. That's where the experience, knowledge, and art is.

If there's one thing you all could do for the newbie...it's to show more of your hands...the manipulation of the tools...the how...not the what.

Thanks.

For my threading video this might help.

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UjUfWq9j6fA[/ame]

It takes a soft touch on the controls and a deliberate execution
of engagement and disengagement. Nothing that any average
split personality isn't capable of.
:big:

Rick