New Stuart Beam Engine

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Richard Horne

Reaction score
StuartBeam.jpg

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JI3Ip0ixBrg]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JI3Ip0ixBrg[/ame]

I've just completed my first steam model, the Stuart Beam Engine shown above. I replaced the cast iron brick that Stuart provides as a base with an oak base supporting a 1/4 inch thick plate with cutouts for the crank and eccentric. All links and rods were done in stainless steel. American thread stainless steel fasteners were used throughout. The engine runs very smoothly at less than 10 pounds of pressure.

I'm a beginner, so altogether I've spent close to 1000 hours on this. Many parts were made twice. An experienced machinist could probably finish in half this amount of time.

I'm not sure I have the paint colors right. I wanted brighter colors than the standard Stuart black and green, but my selection may be too garish. Other color suggestions are welcome.

Richard Horne

You've done a very nice job of it Richard. Personally I like the colours, others may differ.

And welcome aboard!

You've made a nice job of that Richard, well worth the time taken! The colours look fine to me, I like the pea green, makes a nice change.

Welcome to the forum!

Welcome to the forum Richard.
Beautiful work. Nice choice for an engine too.
The colors work for me too.
I'd be interested in more pics too.