New member from Toronto area...

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I just wanted to introduce myself... I'm just another middle aged guy with a technical background, having worked in HVAC design for the past 20 plus years.

I haven't much machining experience, having mostly lived in a condominium that left no room for a shop. So until now I mostly confined myself to modeling wood boats, and carving wood and stone.

I am really interested in learning to machine model steam and IC engines to use in model boats.

I hope to buy a craftex mini metal lathe to start out. I have been debating between the 7" x 8" and the 7" x 12". Both are a far cry from the antique Barnes lathe I used to own with my brother before we lost our shop area.

I am a good technical writer and photographer so if I ever get going on a suitable project you will find it well documented on this forum.

John

Hi John----Brian up in Barrie here. If you go for a Craftex lathe, try the 10 x 18 B2227L or eqivalent size. They are a great machine for model work, offer many more options than the 7" lathes, and aren't really that much more money. And as all will tell you, you can do small work on a larger lathe but you simply can not do larger work on a small lathe. I have built over 16 models with my B2227L and it has served me very well.

Hi Brian,

Thank you for the feedback... I appreciate it.

I would love to go with a 10 x 18 because I would like to machine rollers for etching presses that are 4 or 6" in diameter by 18" long, but rather than the cost, the physical size is an impediment to the purchase. The B2227L weighs something like 130 Kg more than the cx704. It would kill me to have to move it :)