New lead screws and nuts for SX3 mill

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dnalot

Project of the Month Winner !!!
Reaction score
I have been using my SX3 bench top milling machine for a little over two years now. I installed DROs at the get-go so the machine has been usable BUT, there has been a lot of slop that got acute in the past few weeks. After tearing down the machine I found the lead screw nuts for the X & Y axis to be nearly worn away. After cleaning and inspecting the threaded rods with a magnifier I could see that the rod was actually a file. So just replacing the worn nuts was not going to make my mill any better for very long.

I have a CNC router that has been in service for almost 15 years. It has ultra-smooth Acme threaded rod and the self-adjusting nuts on it are still tight. So I replaced the SX3’s lead screws with the ultra-smooth Acme rod and self-adjusting nuts. It was a simple conversion and the result is fantastic. My table now glides almost effortlessly yet has a very positive Feel. The backlash was reduced to .001” and all of that is at the thrust bearings. No lubrication is needed and if and when the nuts need to be replaced it will only take a few minutes and not require the table to be disassembled. I also replaced the funky oiler fittings with oilers with spring loaded lids.

I used the old worn lead screw nuts for anchors for the new acme nuts. The Y axis needed a 2” longer lead screw. The X axis lead screw I made a little shorter because I eliminated the slip joint that allowed the crank wheel to disengage. I did that so that I could make it possible to adjust the tension on the thrust bearings. Total cost was $270 USD.

Mark T

Y.jpg

X.jpg

Great post.
Would like to do this mod to my Chester 836 (mini Bridgeport) but my screws and nuts are just fine at the moment.