Need back gear help, atlas 10F lathe

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Paulsv

Reaction score
I'm relatively new to machining, and this is my first call for help here, tho I have been lurking for a while, and enjoying all of the knowledge you all are sharing.

I restored an Atlas 10F-54 some time ago, and hadn't used the back-gear much. The other day, I needed about 80 RPM, so I engaged the back gear, set the belt on the proper pully for that RPM, according to the Atlas Manual of Lathe Operations, released the pin in the bull gear, and flipped the switch. It ran OK for a few minutes, but suddenly there was a nasty crunching sound, and the bull gear and the back gear it engages were stripped of a number of teeth. :-\ I was not cutting on the lathe when it happened- I was just bringing the tool to the workpiece. I think the lever that engages the back gear may have popped out of its fully engaged position before the crunching sound came, but I am not sure. It was kind of half disengaged when I turned the lathe off.

I'm not sure what could have caused this, other than perhaps the gears weren't meshed properly- perhaps too much or too little lash? The gears were both already on the lathe when I got it, and appear to be original. When I reassembled it, in the original re-build, I did replace the shims under the brackets that hold the back gear shaft. Those shims are 0.010" thick. The back gear shaft turns smoothly, and has no play in it that I can detect, in any direction. Having just bought two new gears, I sure don't want to have this happen again. How do I determine the proper engagement of those gears? Are there different thicknesses of shims that adjust the engagement of the gears? Any other ideas of what could have casued this, and how I can make sure it doesn't happen again?

Paul,