Gear pump

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brian Rupnow

Design Engineer
Project of the Month Winner
Reaction score
I may build a gear pump, just for interest sake. I finally bought the last cutter for my 24 DP gear set which will let me cut 12 and 13 tooth gears, and I have never built a gear pump before. The drawing isn't finished yet, so don't shoot me. I haven't put the shafts in, nor the near side cover, but I will get to it. If you are interested, then follow along.---Brian

Looking forward to this project. I've been wanting to build one for some time now.

The only difficulty I foresee is end clearance between the end of the gears and the inside of the housing. I have some "real work" thanks to my new Solidworks installation, but I still need a "play project". It may be quite a stunt. If the gears are too long, the cover won't bolt on tightly enough and fluid will leak out the joint between the main pump body and the cover. If I make the gears too short, then fluid will bypass around the ends of the gears, resulting in no pressure. I suppose that if a gear was made a bit short, a round piece of shimstock the outer diameter equal to the gear o.d. and the center hole equal to the gear shaft hole could always be used to remove any end gap. My initial thoughts were to make the gears of brass or bronze so they wouldn't rust if I used them to pump water, (and because brass or bronze is MUCH easier to cut than steel). I was going to make everything else except the steel shaft from aluminum. I believe that brass or bronze is more wear resistant than aluminum, so the gears could actually be made .001" to .002" too long and then have them "wear in" to the cover and main pump body to give an almost "0" gap condition. (If I can actually work to that close a tolerance.)

Hi Brian