Engineer Reporting in!

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nerdz

Reaction score
Hello There!

Ive become very interested in machining engines ever since I got my mini lathe (Micromark 7x16 Lathe). The lathe is pretty much stock. I just bought a 4 jaw chuck and I LOVE it. The only thing I have done to my lathe is just lap it (the cross slide was all over the place!).

A little about me: Im a electronics engineer, by trade AND by hobby. I have quite a few interests; Ive recently built a small tesla coil, and Ive also made myself a 400 Lumen flashlight (Its probably more, all I know is i paid $15 for the LED).

So now that brings me here, to conqueror one of my other interests: Stirling Engines. Except, its not for me. Im making it as a gift for someone for christmas :). I have plenty of questions, but few little answers. Hopefully I can find them here

And in between all of this, I bought a house and it needs work. With that said, Hi From CT!

Welcome to the forum. Lots of answers to be found here and very helpful people. I can't help with Stirling questions, but many can. A Stirling worthy of giving away as a gift by Christmas is going to be a challenge though. I know they can be tricky to build. Good luck.

Welcome from Pennsylvania, formerly of Northwest CT. Cogsy is right, making a Stirling can be challenging but give it a try. Plans are available for free or low cost from lots of sources. Good luck and keep us posted

Cheers,
Phil

Welcome hope you enjoy it here
you may want to check into htthttp://www.neme-s.org/p://
they have monthly meetings in Watham MA and an annual show in February