Drafting linen

Discussion in 'The Break Room' started by rickhann, Feb 13, 2018.

Help Support HMEM by donating using the link above.
  1. Feb 13, 2018 #1

rickhann

rickhann

rickhann

Back in my young days as a civil engineer, I often worked with plan sheets drafted with ink on linen (starched). That was over 50 years ago before mylar took over. The linen had a glossy side and a matte finish side. I cannot for the life of me remember which side was used for the drawing ink. Intuitively I would think the matte side, but I remember preparing the surface prior to inking by rubbing it with pounce to take the sheen off. Does anyone know which side is used for the inking? Rick

2. Feb 13, 2018 #2

TonyM

TonyM

TonyM

Well-Known Member Project of the Month Winner

If I remember correctly you draw on the matt side.

3. Feb 13, 2018 #3

BaronJ

BaronJ

BaronJ

Grumpy Old Git.

Hi Rick,

That is my recollection as well. Though I don't remember the "pounce" you refer to.

4. Feb 13, 2018 #4

bazmak

bazmak

bazmak

BAZMAK

I remember the linen but using it was before my time.We drew on paper the Mylar was used to produce a new original and the matt side was scraped off with a scalpel so you could alter the drawing with ink or pencil.I remember using a chalk filled bag to remove pencil dust and grease when using ink

5. Feb 13, 2018 #5

Brian Rupnow

Brian Rupnow

Brian Rupnow