crucibles for iron casting

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kd0afk

Reaction score
I have read that Hessian clay crucibles are what you want to use for melting iron but when I try to find one for sale on line all I get are links for some stupid metal band. Where can I get one of these big enough to melt the iron it would take to cast, say a plate 1"x7"x5" or where can I buy the materials to make one. I did a search on this site for hessian clay crucible and got no hits. I would like to set up a small foundry and I would like to do iron, brass, bronze and maybe some aluminum but mainly the higher temp metals.
Or would a graphite crucible be ok? I'm very new at this but I really want to try it.

Thanks

hi kd

i cant really give you any info regarding locating a clay crucible on the internet, however i can in regards to the use of a graphite crucible and iron. any form of iron alloy cant be used in a graphite crucible as the iron at melting temps dissolves the free carbon out of the crucible subsequently destroying both the crucible and depending on the iron being melting the desired properties of that alloy as the carbon content increases, but mainly it destroys the expensive crucible. it may also help to give your relative location as that will help people to narrow down whether any viables sources are nearby :).

regards mackye

Im in Fort Bragg Ca. on the north coast. What about materials? What kind of mix should I use? How should it be fired?
Thanks.