Complete Newbie Here!

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The_Stig

Reaction score
Hi guys,

Let me start off by saying that these homemade engines I've seen on this site are AMAZING! I'm so interested in building one myself. I'm a massive gearhead. I've got a 1970 Chevelle that I've been restoring slowly since college, (I'm 27). Ive always been facinated in CNC and I love the idea of buying a mill and crafting parts instead of spending money on the parts themselves. I know just about NOTHING when it comes to CNC so feel free to treat me like a 5 year old :). I don't know if I'm going to get into the hobby yet, but I'd like to find out more if I do want to persue this more. That all being said, I've got a few questions for you all.

Like most forums I've been on, I know research is key. Can anyone point me to the best place to read up on CNC? It seems kind of broad, like there's no standard to what program/code you can use.