Bob Shores Model Engine Ignition Book

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GreenTwin

Staff member
HMEM Supporting Member
Global Moderator
Reaction score
Perhaps I am the last model IC engine builder on earth to discover this book, but I am new to model internal combustion (IC) engines and their ignition systems, and so am just now discovering this great resource, by Bob Shores.

This book clears up a lot of the mysteries surrounding model engine ignitions.
Very helpful for the beginner IC engine builder.

I purchased an original copy of this book.

Image1.jpg

Last edited:
I am planning on using the standard (old school) ignition coil, points, condenser, spark plug on the Ball Hopper Monitor engine, and so I was keen to read about what Bob Shores had to say about that.

I was reading along, and then Bob said that the 12VDC (or whatever supply voltage you are using) to the primary side of the ignition coil was DC current, but the secondary side of the ignition coil, which is the wire between the coil and the spark plug, was alternating current.

This sort of made my head spin, and I thought "That can't be correct".

But Bob was indeed correct, and explained that the condenser (which is a capacitive device) and the secondary coil winding set up a resonant condition, and an oscillograph of the coil output is indeed sinusoidal.

Bob mentions it as a resonant circuit/resonant current, and I think think that is probably a more accurate description of the current instead of calling it "alternating current" (not to get hung up on semantics).
I think of "alternating current" as a steady state condition produced by some rotating machine (an alternator), but that is just my slant on AC.