Another new guy

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vidio1

Reaction score
Hello all and thanks for providing such a wonderful site. Quick intro. I was introduced to steam by my Grandfather when I was a kid. He had a steam powered toy that powered several "machines" by moving a string fan belt from one to another.

I was always fascinated with mechanics in general, from my first Erector set to a Street rod later on in my teens. I'm from Ny, but have lived in Western Ky. most of my life now.

I started a Machinist course while in High school and graduated with an Academic & Vocational diplomas. I recently retired from The Army where I was a Machinist and then later a Turbine engine mechanic.

Electronics have been a hobby of mine for a long time. I put that to use as an Electronics mechanic for the DoD. I bought my service time back and applied it to a Federal service job.

I have a few pieces of machinery in my garage, but plan on adding on when I find those deals too good to pass up. Currently I have 9x42 Mill that was CNC'ed sometime in the 90's. It's getting modern electronics and will hopefully be up and running sometime next year.

I also have an Craftsman 6x12 lathe. It does pretty good for bushings and small shafts, but I need to replace it with a proper lathe.

I really don't have anything in mind as a first project, but I'm sure something will catch my eye.

DSC00248 - Copy.JPG

You're off to a good start but you do need to mess it up a bit. Way too clean. Welcome.

If nothing catches your eye, you're not looking. :)

wEc1 to the forum, Glad to have ya.
Brock in oz

Welcome to the board. thanks for serving.
I retired from the national guard machining electronics etc.

Tin

vidio,

Welcome to our forum. wEc1

Best Regards
Bob