1st- and 2nd-ever runner: Elmer's Tiny 1:1 and 1:2 scale

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ttrikalin

Reaction score
Newbie here.

Completed Elmer Verbung's Tiny (#23) in full size (1st ever engine) and in half size (2nd ever runner). Was a wonderful experience. Although both deviate a bit from the plans, have a lot of machining marks and a few mistakes, they run OK.

Here's the video.

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PPWjqj_3cxg[/ame]

I strained my eyes for some of the parts of the second one. Excluding the base, it is shorter than a penny javascript:void(0);. Now I got a stereo microscope and as soon as I get some experience machining under the magnification, I will start building the 1:4 scale version...

best

tom

Welcome to HMEM Tom.

Nice builds of the Tiny!

Rick

Cool. Glad you like them that small. My eyes are getting to where really small stuff is tough. Yours run great!

Great "tiny" runners :) Really neat!!!!

When are you starting on the nano-steam engine? ;D.

Sherline makes a microscope mount for their machines and also sells the miscroscope that goes along with it. ;D

Nice... I see another Thimble engine in the future. :D Welcome to the forum!

Nice ones, Tom. Thanks for the videos.
The little one sounds like a mad hornet!

Dean

Welcome to the forum Tom :)

Very nice Tiny's Thm:

How about a build log on the 1/4 scale ;)

Regards, Arnold

Welcome to the forum Tom!
I echo what Arnold said...would like to see process pics of your next build too.

thanks all...
I'll probably do a build log... so that I can ask people how to solve problems...

take care,

tom

Tom,

Great Job(s)! :bow: :bow: I know what it is to do it at 1/2 scale.