Welder and Plasma Cutter Tech

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

macona

Reaction score
I am a Miller Certified repair tech for welders, plasma cuttesr, engine drives, ect. I work on all brands, Lincoln, Esab, Hypertherm, etc. I also work on cutting machines, plasma or oxy/fuel.

Macona !!! Mate (One big suck up coming :big: )

just the bloke i've been looking for!!!! :bow:

i'm a fan of the DNC 2000 ( formerly a hanrob oxy acet system before the take over)
i can do EVERYTHING with the hanrob, steel to alu, alu to alu, cast to steel etc
but it is slow an you need a real good hand ( and my right one is getting wobbly and will get worse )

cutting well they are not so great but do the job i need.. but i'm wondering about welding

i'm looking at a baby mig are these tiny things any good?? gasless and all

MIG is more forgiving i'm told, i dunno

what would you recommend for the home hobby nut ??

i dont do heavy stuff so dont need heavy penetration but do need to weld clean ( the less clean up the better)

and some people say the little ones are a bit "up and down" that way ( i'm no expert so not real sure what exactly that means )

what are your thoughts??? knowledge and experience say ??

cheers :bow:

jack ( who learned to weld with a lincon arc stick 30 odd years ago and only just got rid of it and kicking myself..)

I have a line on a PowerMax 1100 PC, any opinion on them?

Hi
Small mig welders are OK for occasional use but the gas bottles become expensive
(gasless mig) is messy
Better to buy a second hand semi industrial unit .
I use migatronic at work and i cant fault them.
For accurate home use a scratch start TIG inverter is the way to go especially if you can gas weld
John

Ha.. Forgot I posted over here, anyway