Tool list for a beginner

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

coolgoose

Reaction score
Hi Everyone!

Some of you know me from the post in Welcome section. I am new to model engineering :) I have been researching on the tools required and compiled a short list. Please advice me on the list below:

Lathe: 7X 12 or 7X14 haven’t decided which make to buy. Any suggestions here would definitely make my life easy. For past one week I am pulling my hair on coming to a conclusion on which lathe to buy. 9X and 10X are way bigger for me and I am not sure about 8X ones. I am planning to convert the spare bedroom into a tool room for the hobby so definitely the space is limited.

Lathe Accessories: What accessories do I need for the lathe?

Milling Attachment: Where can I get one? Is it absolutely required to make miniature internal combustion engines? I have decided not to get a milling machine until I become good with the lathe and build some confidence.

Measuring tools:
  • Digital calipers: 4’’, 6’’ or 8’’ not sure. Any suggestions here on the make and the size?
  • Digital Micrometer: 0-1’’. Any suggestions on make etc?
  • Height Gauge: I guess it comes with the calipers
  • Ruler
  • Divider
  • Scriber

Besides these listed here are there any other tools a beginner would need?

Thank You,
Sri.

Hi Sri, welcome aboard. If I may suggest it, a good drill press will go a long way towards your goal. Some of the bench top models (ones that do not stand on the floor) are very reasonably priced and do their intended job quite well. As far as the digital readout calipers and micrometers and such, personally I do not care for them because they seem to eat batteries in a hurry. I do own both but very rarely use them, instead I rely on the analog readout units, they do not require batteries and are every bit as accurate.

BC1
Jim