Steam Engine Flywheel from stock

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

enginemaker1

Reaction score
Several years ago I went to the Cabin Fever Expo in York, Pa. I took a picture a little gas engine that had a interesting flywheel design. As you can see in the picture it has four spokes and some nice curves. Being only four spokes would make it easy to mill just by going in X Y direction.

102_9609.jpg

I thought that I would use that design on a engine someday. Well the time has come that I needed two 6-1/2 inch flywheels for the horizontal duplex steam engine I'm building. (Another Post) Well I just didn't want to make the same design, so I changed it to have Five spokes.

I'm a self taught hobby machinist. My Bridgeport I purchased in 1985 because my dad was the machinist but he didn't have the money for it. So dad ask if I would buy it. Years later he was able to obtain a 14" Hendey lathe. Then after two years, mom and dad moved to Florida. I now have the machines at work were on my free time I can build me models. So before he left, I did not use them much. Now I use them just about everyday.

Well enough of that, back to the flywheel.

I have a 12" rotary table that I have never used. Now I'm going to use it. The hole center is a #4 Morse taper. I needed a pilot for the flywheel blank. So back to the lathe were for the first time I will use the taper attachment.

100_0430.jpg

Here is the setup of the flywheel blank on the rotary table.

100_0445.jpg

The next pictures show the progression of holes.

100_0451.jpg

100_0452.jpg

100_0453.jpg

100_0455.jpg

100_0457.jpg

I still need to make the finish cuts for the spokes.

That is going to be a neat flywheel. Certainly should give a unique look to the engine.

I agree, a real eyecatcher of a flywheel.

BTW, where was the Hendey lathe made?

Cheers,
Phil