silver soldering

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hi
Citric in the Uk is about 75p for 100 grams and thats enough for 1/4 gallon of water. When I use citric i mix two gallons water with 400-500 grams of citric powder. Most chemists will get it for you or stock it in 100 gram bags.
Its worth pointing out I do this for a living so stronger acids are a big advantage time wise. If its for a hobby then take the safe rout and dilute further.

Cheers Kevin

compound driver 2 said:
Hi

Battery acid at 3% would work but in all honesty would take as long as citric acid to work. Sulphuric can be had reasonably easily in the UK and the US.

Cheers Kevin

The acid I use at 3% will clean copper or brass for soldering in about 5 minutes, a little more if it is really dirty and leaves a matt finish, so it might not be any good if you want a polished look when your done. Citric acid is available in most grocery stores in North America, it's used for canning some types of food, another mixture is ordinary vinegar (acetic acid) mixed with salt but I don't remember the ratio, it works about the same as pure citric acid mix. In Britain there was a company selling "Four H's" (not sure of the spelling) pickling for model engineers, suppose to be safe, they advertised in Model Engineer magazine and they may still be around. Sulphiric acid is dangerous to children, animals and idiots so if you are going to use it, do so safely.

Citric acid is available in every supermarket in the UK as Kettle descaler - Check the Ingredients on the packet.

I use it as an acid pickle for jewellery - it works quite quickly (relative to safety pickle) and smells nice.

the druggies use it to manufacture crack Cocaine I believe. I guess they could always squeeze a lot of lemons.

hi