Shoulder Bolt vs. Bolt with Sleeve ? ?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

magic.42

Reaction score
I would like to hear some opinions about which is better:a shoulder bolt or a bolt with a sleeve. If you would present us with your offering in a pros and cons style , it will be a great help to my learning curve ???(Total Newbee) I've seen both and I don't know the reasoning. Thanks and Take Care ~Rich

Rich,

The answer, like most things, is, "It depends..." A shoulder screw (aka stripper bolt) is reasonably good quality steel in a Rc 37-43 temper that is a fair slip-fit (nominal -.001 to -.003 depending on size) to the nominal size you purchased it as (i.e. a 1/2 inch shoulder screw is made to a ø.500 -.002/-.004 tolerance -- often shown as ø.498/ø.496) and will fit very nicely (in almost every instance) an a -.001 hole reamed press-fit for a dowel pin. The shoulder surface of the screw will be quite straight and square to the reference surface with a good smooth (64 microinch) finish. Many of these conditions are hard to duplicated on a home shop lathe.

A good quality bolt with a well made sleeve can be made to you exact dimensions (within the scope of your lathe and abilities). You can use very high quality steel to make it and, if you have the practice and experience down pat and the tooling to support it, you can make a very hard (Rc 45-50 can be very nice) surface for you application. You can also mandrel mount your sleeve for such operations as adding a snap-ring groove (which can be tricky to add to a shoulder screw) or stand-off shoulder (usually accomplished with custom washers when using a shoulder screw).