Photographing a build

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Oldiron

HMEM Supporting Member
Reaction score
Are there any threads here with tips on taking photographs to post of your build? I am NOT good at taking pictures in general and only have an iPhone to work with. As a build thread is no good without pictures I need helping that department. Any threads or help? Bob

I usually choose a bright place or I'll increase the brightness on my phone's camera if needed . I do not use flash when photographing engine parts
If I need to capture and clarify a detail of a part, I will use the "focus" mode in the camera .
In general, you don't need to be as professional as a photographer, just having a relatively clear image is fine

Are there any threads here with tips on taking photographs to post of your build? I am NOT good at taking pictures in general and only have an iPhone to work with. As a build thread is no good without pictures I need helping that department. Any threads or help? Bob
Ok try Android just joking

The biggest problem I have is forgetting to take photos.

I try different places to find good lighting and spot.

Dave

I have tried a light box, and that helped a bit, but still not the results I wanted.

JasonB seems to have the lighting down.

I have found that bright sunlight outdoors just creates harsh shadows.
It has to be some sort of mix from multiple directions.

I need to take a photography class.

Years ago I attended the Nikon School (2-day intensive course in taking better photos, and using your equipment to improve your results; this was before cell phone cameras and the top pro Nikon was the F-4: “F” means film).

The key points from those two days: