Newbie in search of Plans for a Cam Grinder...

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CNC-Joe

Reaction score
Group,

I am a newbie, with some basic machining skills and some cnc equipment .. wanting to get into this hobby after seeing the inspiring work here.

Can anyone help me find info on designing cams?

Can anyone help me find a plan set for a cam grinder?
Prefer a free one.

If you'd like -you can send files to my home email address:
JoeComunale [AT] comcast.net

of course - replace [AT] with the @ symbol

Thanks for any help!

Joe

I found this video it might give you some ideas on making a cam grinder.
[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=88CgdUkrk3s[/ame]

All the best, Paul

Wow! Thanks Paul! That's a really awesome camshaft grinding system.
Do you know where I can find plans for making something like that?

Thanks for your help!

Joe

any basic IC engine plan that needs a cam should have the cam designs.

you say you have cnc so why not rough out the cam with cnc and touch up smooth out by hand.

You should not need a cam grinder unless you are doing something complicated like a v-8. I suggest you start with a single cylinder engine then a double or two before getting into complex ics.
Tin

Hmm- that gives me an idea - I could possibly cut out the cam lobes on my mill then silver solder them to a shaft... just rotating them to the correct position before silver soldering... might just be worth a shot - as I do see valves that are put together with silver soldering... dunno! Maybe might work