New here....with a rust problem.

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cadillacman

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I've new here and happy to be here. Ever since I was a young kid I've been almost obsessed with miniature engines. I'm currently 19 and taking a machine tool certificate program at the local JC. I intend to stay around and learn as much as I can and contribute when I have some experience in the subject!

First off, I apologize if this type of post isn't allowed at all in this forum or if I've put it in the wrong place, but I was wondering if anyone could help me out with a problem I may or may not have soon. I've been looking to purchase a lathe for some time now, but I don't have a whole lot of cash to spend, so that doesn't help :big: . My parents mentioned to one of their friends that I was looking for a small lathe to learn off of and do some projects on. The friend had a brother who unfortunately passed away a couple years back who had a machine. It is currently in the father's possession. He told his father the next day that I was interested in purchasing it. His father told him that I could just have it if I'm willing to come and pick it up. It's a Smithy Midas 1720 CNC that weighs around 500 LBS!