<---My shocked face. I can't measure carriage travel? WHAT!?!?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Maine Ronin

Reaction score
Pardon my ignorance and over abundance of posts but I'm new to this trade and hobby. As you may have already seen, I'm shopping around for a lathe. I was looking at the Jet BD-920W:
http://www.machinetools4sale.com/shop/item.asp?itemid=3423

It looked like a nice lathe for as little as $1200, but one thing was bugging me so I called Jet directly. I asked the guy just how you measure carriage travel along the Z-axis. Does it come with a micrometer stop or do you have to buy one?

His response was... you can't! They don't sell anything and he doesn't think there's an after market micrometer stop! Is it even a lathe if you can't measure how long a cut is? Doesn't that make it more of a random part generator? Of course if I go up to the $4500 lathe I get a micro stop with a DRO option!

Sorry, I know there's probably an easy solution. I guess I got spoiled at school where all the lathes had a DRO. So is there a way to make this little lathe show me z-axis measurements or do I have to find another lathe for that option?

Thanks for helping the rook,
Adam

Adam,
Not to worry - most of us have been in your position, I know I was. The easiest solution without spending the $ for a DRO is to buy a dial indicator and mount it on a magnetic base. Set the base on the swarf pan of the lathe, set the dial indicator against the carriage and you're good to go. Let me know if a picture is needed.

Good luck with your lathe purchase. The Jet 9x20 is a good place to start. I bought the Grizzly version and after 4 years I've become accustomed to its behavior.

Cheers,
Phil