My lathe, and turning 1018

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Paulsv

Reaction score
By way of introduction, I am a tax lawyer, and have done a lot of woodworking. I was given an Atlas 10F54, which I spent some time (and many dollars) fixing up, as it was in pretty bad shape, with busted gears in the QCGB, as well as on the spindle, a broken large pulley on the countershaft, and an inch thick coating of gunk. I used it for a number of years in making 5 string banjos (turning the rims and shaping the rim / neck joint) and doing some metalworking for basic maintenance and repair on home projects, and maintaining my old John Deere garden tractor.

Lately, I decided to get into model engineering, and joined this site. I also have a Sherline lathe, which I have used for some basic metalworking, mostly in connection with my wood working. I am pretty much a novice, tho my dad was a tool and die maker (that is his tool box under the lathe in the picture below), and I worked in his shop for a summer when my truck driving job was shut down by a strike.

here is a picture or two of my lathe:

IMG_0024copy.jpg

IMG_0023.jpg

Obviously, I didn't clean up before taking the shots! Could use a paint job, I guess, but with the amount of oil on it, I'm not worried about rust.

The piece in the chuck is a 2 inch diameter piece of 1018. I was having a heck of a time getting a decent finish on it. I did a lot of reading on this site, and decided I needed to learn to grind HSS tool bits, so I bought this grinder from Harbor freight. With 20% off, it was about $125. Not a Cadillac by any means, but it does the job.

IMG_0029copy.jpg