Lathe Question

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
T

TaxPhd

Is anyone familiar with the OMT 10" x 27" Belt Drive Lathe sold by Travers? It is on sale for $899.99.

I am a complete beginner, and I have been reading everything I can find on the net about machine tools, from "Chinese stuff is fine, but may need some modifications" to "Only buy American Iron." Well, I have been searching for used American machinery, and haven't found anything local, and the other stuff is so far away that shipping is a deal breaker.

So, how would this be for a lathe to learn on?

Scott

Scott OTMT is a "store name brand" sold under the Traver's name.

I am not familiar with their 10 X 27, but I do know the other lathes they
sell are all Sieg manufactured machines.
I can pretty much guarantee it is as well.

I only buy Grizzly machines!
THEY have green paint over the original Sieg red. ;)

They are good quality machines but they do require a total going over before
using them. That's not a bad thing! You should know and understand the
workings of a machine before you use it.

Rick

The Grizzly machines come with more accessories, and from what I have read, they seem to have decent customer service. How is Travers customer service?

Is the OTMT or a Grizzly in a similar size a reasonable machine for a beginner to learn on, or would I be better served by something like a 7" x 14" from MicroMark, and then upgrade when I have a better idea about what I'm doing?

Scott

OK, consider this a personal opinion.
I'm sure many will follow.

When I bought the Grizzly 4000 9 X 19 lathe I had a few issues with it.
I called Grizzly's tech support and was talked through those issues.

I buy Grizzly because if their tech support.

As for size, that opens up a Pandora's Box.

You see some people will tell you that a 7 X 14 is fine for model parts