Large Radius on Mill

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stan

Reaction score
Am I missing something obvious on how to do a set up? I have a Benchmaster Vertical Mill with a 6" x 36" table. I want to cut an arc 6" long on an 18" radius. How do I do it?

Assuming you don't have a massive rotary table the method used for expansion links is to mount the work on a long piece of flat bar. Make a pivot at one end and fix to the mill table, the other end of the bar has a pin that can slide in the tee slot of a rotary table. By turning the rotary table the end of the bar will move in an arc, set your work 18" from the pivot plus 1/2 x tool dia and it will but your radius.

If that does not make sense then pm me your e-mail, I think I can find a sketch or photo.

Jason

I think sorta like how these guys do it, but in a slightly smaller scale. There's a couple threads on profiling rod-ends around a pivot that might be useful. You'll have to have the pivot point further away than most though.

index.php

Thanks for the replies. I thought about borrowing a 24" rotary table but I don't have a crane to lift it onto my mill table. I also though about the flat bar method and considered mounting a lead screw to move it back and forth. I have a tool for rounding over by hand that I use on small aluminum pieces but this is mild steel.

My concern with the flat bar method was how to keep it rigid enough to mill without chatter. I will be milling a 3/4" slot.Does the use of a rotary table with a pin in a T slot solve that problem?