Hello from West Virginia

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
New member to this forum but I have been a Model Engineer since 1976. I recently retired from working 40 years as a Mechanical Engineer in the Electric Generation, Refining and Chemical industries. I use 9 inch South Bend lathes from 1934 and 1952.

I look forward to communicating and sharing ideas. I still machine using non DRO methods, but have recently purchased a 3D printer to see if it can add to my enjoyment of this hobby. Best Regards to all.

Lou Miller, PE

Welcome Lou-

Glad to have you.

I bought a 3D printer a few years ago, and am very impressed with what they can offer as far as pattern making.

I am a non-DRO guy, so to speak, but I do use a poor-man's DRO on my lathe, which is a digital vernier caliper attached to the carriage.

Do you have an engine build in mind?

Pat J.

New member to this forum but I have been a Model Engineer since 1976. I recently retired from working 40 years as a Mechanical Engineer in the Electric Generation, Refining and Chemical industries. I use 9 inch South Bend lathes from 1934 and 1952.

I look forward to communicating and sharing ideas. I still machine using non DRO methods, but have recently purchased a 3D printer to see if it can add to my enjoyment of this hobby. Best Regards to all.

Lou Miller, PE
Welcome to the group

Dave

Welcome to the forum. I worked as toolmaker and I’m in the process of putting a DRO on 40 year old mill. Nice see someone that does machining old school!

Hi All,