Hello from Dublin

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

twangman

Reaction score
Hello All,
Never posted anything on this interwebnet thing before – so go easy on me if I make a total “town halls” of this.
I have been following many of the of the excellent posts on this site for the past number of months and gained much valuable information regarding machining, tooling and methods (including safety procedures) from the various contributors.
Big thanks to all – especially for the top class pictorial details which accompany many of the engine builds. I’m very impressed with the attitudes of the members towards complete Noobs (amongst which I count myself) and appreciate the patient manner which some of the questions are treated. – In the last 4 months I have gotten my hands on a Sieg X3 Mill and followed with a Sieg C4 lathe. While I had learnt the basics of turning and workshop safety in Tech School way back in the late sixties I have never used a mill before and hopefully will manage to get to grips with the capabilities of these machines sometime (typically Stubborn Irish attitude) – I have managed to mangle some scrap metal (and tooling) as exercise pieces and am surprised at the difficulty of manually achieving accuracy and parallelism and I wonder if I will ever be able to approach the levels of skill and artistry which I regularly see displayed on the site?
I am based in Dublin (the one in Ireland – not the one in Texas) and have decided I should stop lurking and just join in.

Twangman
Welcome aboard mate. The X3 is a nice piece of machinery and will stand you in good stead. Learn to tram it, get yourself a good vise and learn to use a dial test indicator to make sure it is running parallel. Those three items will get you going as nothing else I've learned, so far.