Hello everybody!

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chrispyfur

Noob
Reaction score
Hello from Western New York!

My name is Chris, and I am here more because I love engines than any love for machining... (yet, but I suspect that could change!)

I work at my local NAPA parts store, and know my way around a car and engines simply because I used to read my fair share of muscle car magazines when I was younger. I graduated from WyoTech having taken their automotive technology core program and high performance powertrains course.

I'm in the process of planning my first engine now, and it's certainly ambitious. I would like to build a liquid cooled, single overhead cam V10 engine. I intend to build most of the engine block, oil pan, heads, intake manifold and pistons out of recycled aluminum which I will cast and machine myself. Some of the hardened parts I intend to buy for existing applications, and by using the bore dimensions from a small motorcycle I should be able to use things like piston rings, valves, valve springs, and possibly valve seats that are already out there.

I am sure I will have a lot of questions going forward, so with any luck I will be right back here bothering you nice people! :)

Welcome Chris...

what part of Western NY? I can probably wave across Lake Ontario at you...

Hi Chris and welcome from Oz. Will this be your first engine build.?

Thanks Toronto! I'm in Albion, which is directly in the center of Orleans County, which is almost directly in the center of Buffalo and Rochester, which happens to be directly in the center of nowhere! :)

Thanks Herbiev as well! This would indeed be my very first engine build, which is why I would be sourcing out some of the parts from existing engines