Hand Sharpening?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BobWarfield

Reaction score
Nope, I have nothing to contribute here. I am not very good at grinding HSS tools, but I am trying to learn. I have my carbide insert tooling nailed pretty well. Let's say 80%, so I want to learn HSS now.

I have achieved modest success on several HSS tools. One was a form tool, so was the only way to get a job done, and it worked very well. Another was a little parting off tool that worked well. I tried a large radius round nose with lots of positive rake to try to make a nice finishing tool. That one actually works really well, but it was dumb as a rock simple to make. I want the more sophisticated stuff!

I also attempted to make Swede's Patented 5Bears Precision Cutting "Secret Weapon":

5BearsSecretTool1.jpg

I tried to make that shape, I got close. Mine is not nearly this pretty and has facets. I suspect I need to cut the edges with a jig that holds them consistently at the right angle. In any event, mine just didn't cut the way Swede describes. The shape wasn't quite right. Or, perhaps I didn't hone it properly. There is chit chat frequently about using a pocket hone (EZE-LAP) for the final touch up on the edge. I also saw a note from Widgitmaster on CNCZone who always gets outsanding finishes that he uses no carbide inserts. He just has a tool grinder with a diamond wheel and hand sharpens to the right shape. He talks about having just the right "hook angle", which I gather is the positive rake. I've asked him to post a picture and few notes over on the 'Zone, so hopefully I can learn from that.