Greetings from an Aussie in Finland!

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Trizza

Reaction score
Hi all, newbie here :D

I'm an Australian living in Finland, thinking about resuming a hobby! I bought a Clisby lathe years ago when I was at university and built a few accessories and a small compressed air wobbler engine with it before life took its crazy twists and turns (including moving country several times, getting married, buying a house, etc etc!) so thats in storage at my parents' place now, on the other side of the planet. Next time I'm home I'll probably ship it over, its quite entertaining as a toy lathe.

Anyway, fast forward to the present! We're about to move into our new house, and I have a room dedicated to me - "the hobby room" as its known at the moment. My other primary hobbies are woodworking (with a distinct bent towards luthiery) and RC airplanes, so a decent chunk of the room will be occupied by my (hand tool only) woodworking bench, but I reckon I can squeeze in a dedicated space for a lathe there - finally I think I can resume my hobby!

Plan so far is to buy a Sieg SC3 7x14 - one of the new ones with the brushless motor. I'm not sure yet if I'll be able to dedicate any space for a drill press or milling machine, so I will probably buy the vertical milling attachment. Any advice is most welcome! I should be able to dedicate space for a semi-permanent benchtop drill press or mill, but it'd have to be light and compact enough that I could stow it under my woodworking bench when I don't need it for a project. Any suggestions for machines that might fill that role?

This looks like a really great forum that I wish had existed back when I bought my Clisby lathe! I'm really looking forward to participating and building some of the great plans on here :)