Finishing the Phil Duclos Odds and Ends

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cl350rr

Reaction score
Hello all.

I have a few engines in the "not yet finished" stage and decided that the only way I was going to make the time to finish them any time soon was to sign on here, learn a few things and complete the parts I have been putting off so here we go.

first I am amazed at the tooling, craftsmanship, enginuity, and photography I have seen so far on this forum. I am really not all that blessed in any of these areas so please bear with me...

I have been dabbling in machine work for about 30 years now, buying and selling lathes and a milling machine. when I bought my sherline "inside shop" equipment a few years ago, the fellow I bought them from offered me a couple of incomplete engines for a few dollars more. one of the engines was this odds and ends hit and miss engine. he had completed the frame, flywheels, crank, rod, piston, rings and bearings. he handed me the cam gear which is the point he had stopped.

I took it from there and completed a few small parts each winter when I had time. this picture shows where I started this winter's push to complete the engine:
oddsandends.jpg

Fine looking engine cl !! Here's to a long enough Winter so that you'll have it running by Spring. By the way, both the craftsmanship and the photography look great to me,

Bill

Thanks Bill.
first on the list of to-do's was a muffler. I grabbed the largest brass round stock I had which is a bit smaller than the muffler in the plans. I figure if I'm gonna make it a bit different, I might as well make it the way I like it so...
oddsandends002-1.jpg

oddsandends003-1.jpg

that was 3 weeks ago, the engine has been painted since:
oddsandends005.jpg