Farm Boy 475

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
[ame]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DJ5ZZ3AEdkA[/ame]

After 14 months of building it is going beautifully. The build was definitely at my limit of capability, being self taught and only starting ME 4 years ago. I now have the confidence to try something more complicated.
It is running at about 600RPM and fires every 46 revs.
I'm running it in at the moment and have to remake the carb to correct specs - the current carb is a temp job.
Apologies for the poor quality iPhone video. When its painted, polished and base made, I'll do a decent video.
I have 2 questions gentlemen:
1. It has a huge 'kick' when firing, so what sort of base with some sort of 'cushioning' would you recommend?
2. I'd like to simulate the 'casting' look for the base. How can I achieve that?
Best regards to you all and thank YOU all - you have taught me what I know today.
Pete

It certainly runs very nicely. As for a base I would just use a piece of aluminum plate and radius the edges. It doesn't look like it kicks as badly as some others I've seen.
gbritnell

A couple of ways you can simulate casting finish.These are what I use.

The first is grit blasting, which works very well on aluminium and softer materials, by using different grades of grit, you can obtain rougher or smoother finishes. The smoothest being small glass bead medium, this gives a finish like you see on commercial model aircraft engines.

I am a devil when I make from castings, especially if they are bad or bent, I will machine everything straight until I can get good datums then apply the simulated release tapers and casting finish when the job is done.