Cutting my first gear

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brian Rupnow

Design Engineer
Project of the Month Winner
Reaction score
I was so inspired by Captain Jerrys post about gear cutting in his thread about the donkey engine, that I thought I might try it. I have never done this before, so it will be a total learning experience for me. Jerry refers to this excellent website in his post
http://www.rushgears.com/Tech_Tools/PartSearch5/partSearch.php?gearType=SPUR
which will let you configure the gear to what you want, and then let you download a 2D or 3D file of it to use on your computer.

You'll get it, no prob Brian.
Like Linda Ronstadt says;
It's so easy, so easy, so easy, so easy...

I went to their website, and chose a 24 pitch, 20 tooth, spur gear with a pitch diameter of 0.833 and an overall diameter of 0.917"---This was determined more from the fact that I have a scrap piece of 1" o.d. aluminum round stock than anything else. The gear downloads very nicely, and they even have an option for downloading it in solidworks
RushGears_2010_1013-2074.jpg

Once I had the solid model of the gear on my computer, I started a sketch on the face of the gear, and converted the lines adjacent to the gap between two teeth to "line entities" and decided that a piece of 3/16" square HSS would be large enough.
SKETCHTODEVELOPTOOTHCUTTER.jpg

I then extruded those line entities into the third dimension (thus 3D) and created my cutting tool 'In place".
ASSYOFGEARANDTOOTHCUTTER.jpg

Brian, in case you haven't come across it somewhere, there's a simple formula for finding
gear blank diameter. Take the number of teeth you need, add the number two, divide by the gear pitch. Try it with the one you just put up, and you'll see what I mean.

Dean