Could be left with 2 holes in bench - dozy idea?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

student123

Reaction score
I'm new to model engineering. I have a basement diy workshop which gets some damp I it , so I avoid storing electrical items there.
In it theres a fine wooden bench, with a vice at one end

Iv'e recently bought a bench drill, it has a base with 2 bolt holes for mounting.
My idea is to drill holes in my bench, then bolt the bench drill down. But when not needed, lift it up & take it away for drier storage.
Just I'll be left with 2 holes in the benchtop , the plan is simply to leave the bolts in there.

Just feels a bit 'inelegant' (dozy?) an approach - any thoughts?

You will get tired of putting bolts in and out pretty quickly. Get a couple of big Destaco clamps to hold it down with. Very quick, very secure, and very easy to release.

me i would figger out what is making it damp in there then solve that problem.
then i could concentrate on tools that will stay rust free.
there are many different ways to keep water out heat is one way to get started.

I have a dehumidifier under my bench in the basement and I oil my tools when needed.
As far as the holes issue I have several bench tools that I do not bolt down to the bench even though they have mounting holes. the band saw just sits on the bench. as do a couple of others If you feel no mounting is to unstable mount it to a piece of plywood or a plank to give a larger more stable foot print. My basement benches are home made from salvaged lumber so a couple of holes would not bother me but if I had a fine wooded bench I would not drill holes in it.
So my advice mount the drill to a board, clamp down to the bench when and if needed.
Tin