Can all End Mills be used in a ER16 (Taig) collet holder?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RMS

Reaction score
Hi all and Happy New Year!

I noticed some end mills have slots others don't I just got a new Taig Mill, and the end mills it came with are too small in diameter so I am looking to buy some larger diameter type end mills to use in the stock ER16 3/8" collet holder. I am going to be cutting and slotting 5/8" aluminum. I was hoping someone could recommend the correct type of end mill for this collet type? I think I need both roughing and fine types having a 1/4"-3/8" cutting diameter to be used in a 3/8" ER16 collet holder, but I also have smaller collet sizes as well.

Please note that I have never used a mill before and I see so many types of end mills some to be used with set screws, and so many others like solid carbide, HSS, imports, 4, 3 and 2 flutes ect that I would rather ask in advance before I buy.

Thanks,
Rob

An ER collet will hold screwed shank, plain shank and the small disposable FC-3 ones with the flat on them.

The FC-3 ones work out quite cheap, their biggest disadvantage is the short length which can mean the collet chuck gets in teh way of hold down clamps etc but they can be used for 75% of work. I use the Hertel brand from MSC J&L

There is a far better choice in plain or screwed shank, I have a mix of both 4 flute endmills and two flute slot drills. You usually can't plunge cut with a 4 flute but you can with the 2 & 3 flute ones. If you want a few to try out then this seller in Hong Kong is well worth a look to get a few general items to try out, HSS will be fine for now.

http://richontools.com/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=15&zenid=a1ed03472ec1735be81516b03e077394