BEGINNER - Where do I start?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gazatteer

Reaction score
Hi

I have a new hobby, model steam engines, for the past couple of weeks. How long this hobby will last? I have no idea.
I am a 110% beginner. I am a software developer and I have no idea about mechanical engineering/cad.

I have done some research on the net and watched a lot of youtube videos but I still don't know where to start.

There are so many model steam engine plans. They all seem very complicated though the concept of steam engine is simple.

The lathes cost a lot of money £400+, on ebay, for just to build a model steam engine. There are lathes that are over 50 year old (phew), like Myford ML7 (correct me if I'm wrong), and is still selling for over £600. I can't spend that amount of money on a lathe, I'm getting made redundant in couple of months time from work.

I have another problem too. I don't have a room for a lathe at home.

Should I buy Autodesk Inventor? but then again, why if the design are available on the net?

So where do I go from here? (See how lost I am. I think it's information overload or none at all) n ???

Thanks

Start out small, simple projects, see if you like the hobby and if so go bigger when you can. Tools including a lathe or mill are life time investments, you can't justify them for just building a small model engine. You have to look at it as a necessary evil for this type of hobby.

If you where into boating it would cost a lot more to buy even a small boat and you couldn't justify the cost for weekend sailing, but people do. It a necessary evil if you want to go boating.

Or golfing.

Or flying

Or any of a hundred more expensive hobbies.