Advice on Reaching out for employment

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kcmillin

Project of the Month Winner!!!
Project of the Month Winner
Reaction score
OK, For about ten years I have been in the Siding/construction business as part of a LLP.

I have been machining for about 6 years, more so in the last two, and my skills are getting better and better with every project.

There is a company in my town who specialize in making prototypes and small run production for inventors. They also help with design and finding manufactures for these inventors.

Needless to say, I have been pondering the Idea of approaching them for employment for quite some time. It really sounds like a dream job to me.

However, I have no formal training, I am a diesel tech college dropout and the last ten years just flew by.

My question is, how do I approach these small business owners with my proposal for employment? I have no real resume, other than the projects I have completed. I have $10-$15K worth of my own tools, thats gotta possibly help my chances, right?

Kel

If you showed up with one (or several) of your fine engines that you have designed and built yourself, I think that is better than a resume any day.

It shows that you are not just looking for a job, but that you are truly passionate about machining.

Plunk one of them down on the owners desk and fire it up. They will be impressed.

I'm with Kevin, degrees are plentiful these days, passion isn't !! Definitely take one of your creations. Have they said what they are looking for? Best of luck to you...sounds like it could be a good opportunity.

Bill