A pedestal for my Taig lathe

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

timB

Reaction score
I have learned so much here at HMEM, I figure I had better at least show something in return. With that in mind, please accept this story in pictures and words as I build "A pedestal for my Taig lathe."

Since I am a complete newb at this hobby, I hope the elders will jump in here with suggestions, tips, and point out any error in my ways. Hmmm... lets see did i oil my ways before starting this project.... ::)

My shop made fly cutter will be the main tool.

A nice hunk of 6061 aluminum.

I filed one side flat so it wouldn't rock on the mill table.

And so I could work a surface without bumping into clamps, i chain drilled and chiseled a square recess on the ends. These will be trimmed off later.

D200_02628.jpg

D200_02631.jpg

D200_02634.jpg

D200_02645.jpg

After squaring up four sides, I trimmed some off with my band saw and milled some more so it will have a finished height of 2".

Now I need to work on the ends. Two holes through the top, which will be covered serve to clamp it to the mill table. I squared up the bottom 1/2" on the small ends with an end mill, flipped it over, and got ready to do a little profiling with the fly cutter.

.007 more to go. I found I could take .250 wide x .050 deep cut with my fly cutter sharpened for aluminum. The last image shows the serious back rake ( degrees 35) i put on the bit, but boy does it chew aluminum.

D200_02659.jpg

D200_02681.jpg

D200_02683.jpg

D200_02686.jpg

Tim

I'm watching this with great interest, this is one of the mods to my Taig that I have been putting off....

Cheers, Joe

Hi Joe,

Inspired by the Engineman http://lathes.jrbentley.com/taig.html I took a little simpler route that probable is a little more labor intensive.