6 Cylinder Radial

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ejcheli

Reaction score
Well, I'm new to all this but I really have enjoyed starting building model engines. I built my first engine last month and now I am attempted to build a radial based on the design of crueby found:

6-cylinder radial engine build log

I will be receiving a degree this spring in Metal Fabrication so I have a bit of machining experience and have access to CNC and manual lathes and mills making these projects possible. I will post pictures when able.

Eric

Here is my first motor. Simple and plain but runs really well and has really good tolerances.

motor1.jpg

motor2.jpg

motor3.jpg

motor4.jpg

Well here are all the parts I have completed as of today. For anyone who is familiar with crueby's engine, they will note some differences as I am taking the liberty of changing or adding a thing or two here and there but the heart and operation of the engine is entirely crueby's design.

IMG_1769.jpg

IMG_1770.jpg

IMG_1771.jpg

Hi Eric,

Looks like a very good start - loooking forward to seeing it progress!

Chris

Remade my counterweight but used mild steel this time. It will fit perfectly but I don't like the super close pictures as they show every little defect hehe...

Keep in mind the end mill facing cuts across this piece were done with a .125" end mill, so its a really small part!

IMG_1784.jpg

Got all the cylinder blanks turned out today. Made a fixture as well which I will put into the CNC mill tomorrow and bore out the piston and valve shafts and also drill all the holes for the cylinder caps. Seems like cheating but I gotta make this a speedy as possible due to a massive amount of official class projects I have to build as well....

IMG_1785.jpg

IMG_1787.jpg