Where's Harry Potter when you need him ..... the Dark Arts ...... Grrrrr.. SPT

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CrewCab

Reaction score
or ................. Single Point Threading ??? ......... and how I broke all my cutting tools in one afternoon :-X

OK ..... this is my first attempt at said "Dark Art" ... :wall: .......... I've chosen an M12 x 1.75 thread .......... cos' that's what I need ..... I've abandoned practising on mild steel bar and am now using Delrin ... much easier on the tooling ;D ......... but .......

why is my 1.75 pitch thread ending up at about 1.75 plus a bit ......... or around 1.8 ish ???

Confused.com CC :D

You may have the wrong change gears installed, or it may be a case of having a British Imperial lead screw that will not cut a metric thread.

Brian Rupnow said:
it may be a case of having a British Imperial lead screw that will not cut a metric thread.

.0254/.025 x 1.75 = 1.778 ??? ............. Dammit Brian :mad: .......... you may well be right :-\

:wall: CC ???

Dave,

As you have found out the hard way, you are now in the world of the black arts.

There has been a lot of discussion on this over the last month or so about this weird phenomononomonon.

Marv is the one who is having bad indigestion over this one, and already I have put my head thru a brick wall because of it.

It all seems to stem, as Brian said, from the changeover from imperial to metric leadscrews, or the non changeover in some cases.
With an imperial leadscrew, it is normally very easy to cut imperial threads, and only (but sometimes very close) approximations of metric threads.

With a metric leadscrew, up to now, you are on your own.
Both Marv and myself are still working on that one.