Time to buy a lathe and mill.

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I am by no means an expert, but I bought a Taig as my first metal lathe. It fits into my space and budget requirements, and t was no big problem to get it to my shop. I'm looking forward to gaining more skill, and eventually buying a taig mill. For what I intend to do, it suits me fine.

Thanks all.

Bob, that 410 mm isn't that much longer than the 350 mm of the lathe I was looking at. But 60 mm is a lot of you need it to finish a project.
But lenght isn't every thing. The SC4 is much more lathe compared to the SC2.

Still not sure what way to go from here.
I hope I have some time next week to go by a store that has some of the lathes that I'm interested in.

@Mikbul. Those are close to what I wanted to get from Sieg. I have a small problem with the Littlemachineshop. I'm in Europe and they don't ship outside the US and Canada. Even if they did, shipping and taxes would make it more expensive that getting some thing similar over here.

But I have more to think about again. :)[/QUOTE]

Sorry, I failed to notice your location on the planet

First, I'm glad you're taking the time to chew it all over.

Second, I would encourage you to buy just one, a lathe, or a mill. The learning curve is engaging, but still real, for you must work for precision. The tooling costs are equally real, and probably more diverse tools than you have realised are needed. This is presumptuous of me, I know, but you will quickly need a bunch of things, if you aim to learn to hit the mark, every time. Quality measuring tools are expensive, for one. Even the cost of stock can be surprising. And marking out a casting, for example, for machining is often a real challenge.