The Smallest Part You Ever Made?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rake60

Reaction score
I know I have posted this question here before, but it has been awhile.
The scale of parts that Doc is making now has me absolutely AMAZED!
Beautiful work Doc! :bow:

The smallest precision parts I have ever made were the valve bushings
for my Poppin build.

Poppin%20Valve%20Bushings.jpg

I know those parts are not really that small.

SO, What is the smallest part you have ever made?
th_wwp

Rick

Parts for lantern tool post for miniature metal lathe...

TOOLPOST3.jpg

Completed tool post...

TOLLPOST4.jpg

Prototype spur drive center for miniature wood lathe

SPUR.jpg

Functioning bearing oil cup for miniature metal lathe...

CUP.jpg

After looking at the above work I feel so... inadequate. :( But being a novice I was proud when I finished my 64 DP, 20 toothed gears.

Rudy

64DP20TGears.jpg

Single pointing a #2 x 128 tpi needle valve with a 12" Logan! :eek:

DOT is .0044"...did it in two passes.

Dave

00-90 nut and bolt is the smallest i have made, tapped the nut but i cut the thread on the lathe (under a microscope)

chuck

You guys make me sick! ;D

Loving the pictures!!!
Keep them coming!

The smallest part i have made can be seen by the naked eye from the moon! :big:
One day i hope to be able to produce work close to all of yours!!

Andrew

Dave and Chuck, I have no doubts about your achievements, but:
th_wwp

Great replies group!
I knew this would be an interesting question.

Rick

Smallest I've made recently. I think I succeeded in trying to forget about the others :D

CIMG9064.jpg