Taig lathe for.........

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tonphil1960

Reaction score
Hi all, Just joined the boards here. I will be getting a Taig lathe in the next month or so. With the Taig lathe and milling attachment can I build a engine from castings? New to machining but have experience with metal work, (see my welcome intro) I would like to do as much as I can with the Taig lathe with milling kit for the near future. I am also looking into a drill press. Do I really need a drill press to build simple engines from castings? I am working indoors, in the house in a very small room where I build my military models, not a shop my any means. So small and compact is the name of the game for me for now.

Thanks Tony

I have very little experience myself. I have a small lathe, mill, and a small table-top drill press. I've built two engines so far (and slooooowly) working on a third. I've yet to use the drill press. Whether you need one or not may depend on the type of engines you're thinking about. More knowledgeable members will help.

I don't know your situation....my shop is in the basement. I keep seldom used or very messy tools in the garage and that way have a bit more room.

Don't forget storage for tools, accessories, etc.

Ah...and there you go...a knowledgeable member (Tin) popped in while I was writing.
What he said.

Tin,, I am from Passaic Co. about 10 min from the NY line. yes I will try a bar stock kit first for sure. I also have a modeling sire that sells them. Looking into something simple to machine at first. I am hoping to use the lathe to also make parts and tools for static scale modelers like myself. Small parts in brass and alum.