Suitable Grease for lathe bearings?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mark-One

Reaction score
G'day all

First post, so be gentle ;)

The other day my uncle brought over a Unimat DB200 for me to try out. I've no previous lathe experience, and everything I know currently is contained in whatever manuals he had.

This machine has probably not seen use for some years.
Since I broke one of the dry old rubber belts in short order, I feel I should give this thing its 1000 hour service, as specified in the manual, which involves repacking the headstock bearings, amoung other things, while I wait for replacement belts.

My question for you folks is what is the preferred sort of grease to be using for such things these days? I've got a tub of plain old axle/wheel bearing grease in the garage, but I'm not sure if what is good for automotive use is also suitable for a little machine like this.

I did a quick search, but did not find another post on this topic.

I would find it hard to believe that the bearings in a small lathe take more abuse than those in the front wheels of a vehicle. If it's good enough for your car (ATV, trailer, whatever), it ought to be good enough for this as well.

G'day Mark

Unimat Oz has a slip that recommends unimoll grease

its a shell product that is used in motorcycle bearings, trailer wheel bearings, etc

but has the same ID number as "general light bearing grease" here

this is very old info ( late 70's) dunno what its equivalent is today

hope this helps

cheers

jack

A lithium based No. 2 Grease - Such as Shell Alvania EP2.

If we are talking about ball/roller bearings the repacking grease should fill about 1/3 of the space available in the bearing.

Best Regards
Bob

Thanks all.