steam engines

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

newbie28

Reaction score
Good day to all,

I am very interested in moving beyond the newbie stage in machining. However, i know nothing about it, no tools either, but i know i have to begin somewhere. Would anyone have suggestions or advise on where to begin? I am a draftsman by trade and have a BS in electrical engineering. Please advise.

Welcome to the forum. You should be able to get a lot of good ideas and advice here. I would encourage you to take some time to look around at some of the projects both current and in older posts and see what interests you. Most would probably tell you to begin with a bar stock project, something simpler at first like an oscillating cylinder engine. Of course it will be necessary to gather up some tools first and there is pleny of good advice around here in that regard also. Give some thought to what size engines you might want to make, both how and in the future as that will help guide your choices of tooling, machine tools, etc. Your background in drafting should be of help. Mostly just have fun and take things slow so you don't get frustrated. We have all been down that road of just starting out, so don't be shy about asking questions.

Regards,
Bill

Bill-

Thanks for responding so quickly. I should have added in my first post that my father i a hobby machinist. He owns a (i believe) a 60" metal lathe and a really nice vertical mill. So i may or may not have the tools (depending on his mood) but I have several projects in which i am very interested. Actually, i have way too many hobbies, 4 kids, and a loving wife. So I guess it will be mostly research for the time being. Any books or reference material you might suggest?

Thanks-

Dan